You are here

Back to top

A Study in Murder: A Victorian Book Club Mystery (Hardcover)

A Study in Murder: A Victorian Book Club Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A mystery author is charged with murder--and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages--in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.

Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.

Two evenings later, as Lady Amy awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty--until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.

Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation--and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.

Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

About the Author


USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton has penned more than thirty-five historical romance books, and writes humorous and spicy Regency with "historic elements and sensory details" (The Romance Reviews). Callie lives in Oklahoma with two rescue dogs and her top cheerleader husband of many years. Her family also includes her daughter, son, and daughter-in-law. And her four year old twin grandsons "The Twinadoes."

Praise For…


Praise for A Study in Murder:
“A cozy delight, with a charming heroine.”
—New York Journal of Books

“A breath of fresh air with a heroine that is smart, clever, and brazen.”
Manhattan Book Review

“We’ll be looking forward to the next in the series for sure!”
—Eyes on World Culture

"This book is a delight!...A Study in Murder has clear echoes of Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and of course, Sherlock Holmes. You will love this book."
—William Bernhardt, author of The Last Chance Lawyer

“A one-of-a-kind new series that's packed with surprises.”
—Mary Ellen Hughes, National bestselling author of A Curio Killing.
 
"[A] lively and entertaining mystery...I predict a long run for this smart series."
—Victoria Abbott, award-winning author of The Book Collector Mysteries

"With a breezy style and alluring, low-keyed humor, Hutton crafts a charming mystery with a delightful, irrepressible sleuth."
—Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author of Never Deny a Duke

Product Details
ISBN: 9781643853024
ISBN-10: 1643853023
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A VICTORIAN BOOK CLUB MYSTERY