You are here

Back to top

The Splendour Falls (Paperback)

The Splendour Falls Cover Image
$21.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"I've loved every one of Susanna's books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters—sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!"—DIANA GABALDON, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander

In an intricate balance of past and present, Susanna Kearsley offers a story of French historical fiction full of breathless suspense, Gothic romance, and priceless treasure.

Emily Braden has stopped believing in fairy tales and happy endings. When her fascinating but unreliable cousin Harry invites her on a holiday to explore the legendary town of Chinon, France and promptly disappears—well, that's Harry for you.

As Emily makes the acquaintance of Chinon and its people, she begins to uncover dark secrets beneath the charm. Legend has it that during a thirteenth-century siege of the castle that looms over the city, Queen Isabelle, child bride of King John, hid a "treasure of great price." And in the last days of the German occupation during World War II, there was another Isabelle living in Chinon, a girl whose love for an enemy soldier went tragically awry.

As the dangers of the past become disastrously real, Emily is drawn ever more deeply into a labyrinth of mystery as twisted as the streets and tunnels of the ancient town itself.

A tale that deftly examines the ripples of the past through the present, The Splendour Falls brings the romance of French history to life for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Kate Morton, and Kate Mosse.

Also by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea
The Firebird
A Desperate Fortune
The Rose Garden
The Shadowy Horses
Named of the Dragon
Season of Storms
Mariana
Bellewether

About the Author


New York Times, USA Today, and Globe and Mail bestselling author Susanna Kearsley is a former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, often in twin-stranded stories that interweave present and past. Her award-winning novels have been published in translation in more than 25 countries. She lives near Toronto.

Praise For…


"Well-written and the narrator's voice is introspective, engaging and sympathetic. " - Miss Bates Reads Romance

"Kearlsey includes all her trademark elements: an atmospheric setting, mystery, intrigue, secrets and legends." - Library of Clean Reads

"It was well written and it kept me reading and reading." - Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell

"A delightful, modern gothic mystery with a romance. It's evocative of the time and place and people and filled with fascinating characters who come to life off the page." - Dear Author

"Susanna Kearsley has created a gothic romance worthy of Mary Stewart, sure to appeal to romance and mystery readers alike." - Shelf Awareness

"SPLENDOUR FALLS is a beautifully written tale that resonates with the reader long after the last page has been turned." - Fresh Fiction

"Kearsley didn't disappoint me at all, and this is perfect for those who dream of visiting a castle in France, such as I do. The descriptive writing, the nuances of danger laced with guilty pleasure all come together in a thrilling way as we fall in love with the scenery." - Burton Book Review

"I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this novel, this is exactly my type of book. I read it in no time and I loved how Kearsley described her setting." - The Book Musings

"I enjoyed this book very much. It was different from my normal read and I felt like the attention to detail made all the difference in the world. Now, I want to go to Chinon, France and have my own adventure. Can't get a much better endorsement than that." - Deb's Book Bag

"Visions of sunlit ruins will enchant armchair travelers, and layers of ancient intrigue thrill history buffs; romantics will enjoy watching a cynic open her heart to love, and there's even a tinge of ghostly doings for fans of the gothic" - Florida Weekly

"A master of gothic romance, Kearsley (The Firebird, 2013, etc.) deftly plants clues, strews red herrings and toys with her reader's predictions. The journey is thrilling." - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781402258619
ISBN-10: 1402258615
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: January 14th, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English